Charlotte Regional Transportation Planning Organization (CRTPO)


  • 6:00 p.m.
  • Meets the 3rd Wednesday of each month
  • Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center
    Room 267, Second Floor
    600 E 4th Street
    Charlotte, NC 28202
  • Website


Per the interlocal agreement, the members must be the Mayor and Town Manager or designee.
  • Commissioner Jane Campbell
  • Mayor Rusty knox


The Charlotte Regional Transportation Planning Organization (CRTPO) consists of voting representatives in Mecklenburg County from: Each of the following have voting representatives from Union County: A member of the North Carolina Board of Transportation is also a voting member. Non-voting members on the Board are from the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Planning Commission and the Union County towns of Lake Park and Marvin.


It is the CRTPO’s responsibility to coordinate transportation policy for local governmental jurisdictions within the Charlotte Urbanized Area. The CRTPO, in cooperation with the state, develops transportation plans and programs for the urbanized area that will:
  • Assist governing bodies and official agencies in determining courses of action and in formulating attainable capital improvement programs in anticipation of community needs
  • Guide private individuals and groups in planning their decisions which can be important factors in the pattern of future development and redevelopment of the area