Transportation Organizations

Lake Norman Transportation Council (LNTC)
The Lake Norman Transportation Commission was born out of a six month "Mayors Transportation Task Force" which completed its work in late spring of 2008. In essence, the Task Force said the towns would be better off working together on transportation matters than alone. Seven months later, all four town commissions approved an interlocal agreement setting up the Lake Norman Transportation Commission. In July 2016, the Towns of Cornelius and Huntersville left the organization and Troutman, Statesville, and Iredell County joined to continue the mission of the LNTC.

North Mecklenburg Alliance (NMA)
The objective of the Alliance is to study, investigate and advocate any and all transportation improvements in the Lake Norman area, including continuing to promote regionalism amongst the lake towns of Davidson, Cornelius, and Huntersville while advocating to persuade local, State and Federal officials to give high priority to critical road, interstate, transit, and other multi-modal projects which allow continued quality of life and ease congestion in north Mecklenburg and Iredell Counties, and in the Lake Norman region while providing the vital infrastructure needed for continued economic growth. The Alliance may also study, investigate, and advocate for other issues outside of transportation if the parties agree. 
Charlotte Regional Transportation Organization (CRTPO)
The Charlotte Regional Transportation Planning Organization (CRTPO) is the federally designated Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Charlotte Urbanized Area.  Federal legislation requires urbanized areas with populations larger than 50,000 to have an MPO, whose primary function is to carry out the transportation planning process among the member jurisdictions within its established planning area boundary.  Due to the growth of the Charlotte Urbanized Area, and the subsequent expansion of the MPO planning area boundary, the CRTPO was established in place of the former Mecklenburg-Union MPO.
he North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) is responsible for building, repairing, and operating highways, bridges, and other modes of transportation, including ferries, in the state of North Carolina.One of state's largest government agencies, the N.C. Department of Transportation is responsible for maintaining approximately 80,000 miles of roadways and 18.000 bridges and culverts across North Carolina, as well as regulating and implementing programs to support rail, aviation, ferry, public transit and bicycle and pedestrian transportation.

The department also includes the Governor's Highway Safety Program, N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles and N.C. Turnpike Authority, as well as N.C. State Ports Authority and N.C. Global TransPark – both of which help expand economic opportunities in the state.

Metropolitian Transit Commission (MTC)
The Metropolitan Transit Commission (MTC) is the policy board for the Charlotte Area Transit System and is responsible for reviewing and recommending all long-range public transportation plans.  The Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners reviews the transit system's operating and capital programs, and makes recommendations to the affected governments for their approval and funding of those programs. The MTC is a public body, and in addition to holding monthly public meetings, it conducts public involvement programs designed to gain community input on transit planning. 
NC73 Council on Planning
The Council of Planning is a multi-jurisdictional body tasked with monitoring and managing the NC 73 corridor, a 35-mile section of rapidly developing communities in the northern parts of the Charlotte, North Carolina region. 
Charlotte Area Transit System (CATS)
The Charlotte Area Transit System, commonly referred to as CATS, is the public transit system in Charlotte. It operates bus and rail service around the Charlotte metropolitan area. This includes a bus rapid transit line called the Sprinter, a light rail line called the LYNX Blue Line, and a streetcar line called CityLYNX Gold Line. Davidson is serviced by the 77x Express Bus and the Village Rider.